Black and White

Black and White digital photos reveal more detail than color photos of the same scene. They have three times as much detail, because they do not have to split data processing over three different colors. Instead, every sensor can just look for brightness and contrast.

Since I wanted to explore color registration later, I looked for a scene with lots of color as well as texture variation. A fabric store would be ideal, so I packed up my gear and headed to Mood.

These two texture shots are my favorite demonstration of the tonal quality you get from monochrome mode.

I really enjoyed this shoot, I just wish I had better color gels. But that is irrelevant until I finish working on my color registrations.

Leave a Reply

